Some people think that art is no longer important and funding should be diverted to the development of science and technology. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that art has lost its importance in modern society and that governments should allocate more funding to sectors such as science and technology. However, I firmly disagree with this view, as art remains crucial for cultural preservation and creative innovation.

First of all, art plays a vital role in protecting cultural heritage and traditions, reflecting the history, culture and values of a nation. From the earliest centuries, art has existed in various forms in every society, contributing shaping and defining civilizations. However, nowadays development and spreading of art requires financial support, which usually comes from government funding, therefore this money is essential. In addition, art helps future generations to widen their knowledge and vision of their own history and heritage, and it strengthens the importance of government funding. For example, many museums, art galleries and cultural festivals are funded by the government, which often are visited by school or university excursions as a part of their education.

Furthermore, it should be mentioned that art does not only provide cultural advantages, but economic as well. It contributes to employment by providing workplaces for guides, administrative workers, security staff and so on. Meanwhile, art attracts tourists from many different countries which increases the level of tourism, accordingly contributing to a country’s gross domestic product which is one of the main indicators of the wealth of a nation. For instance, Rome with its strong art scene attracts tourists and international events, which boosts the local economy, and enhances the city’s budget.

All in all, although funding science and technology is significant, art should not be neglected by the government, and the financial resources should be allocated fairly between these sectors, as they all hold their own unique significance.