Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Maintaining the original form of an old building is quite expensive. For this reason, I do agree that antique structures that hold historical value and can still serve their original purpose in modern society deserve more preservation than any old buildings that are merely iconic by design.

Although old buildings scream with prestige due to their impressive and unique architectural design, it is important for governments, especially third-world nations, to prioritize pragmatism. Local agencies have many programs that require funding and resources, such as combatting poverty, malnutrition, and low literacy rates. Therefore, structures that were built fifty years to centuries ago, such as libraries, houses, hospitals, and commercial buildings that the new generation can utilize to create more jobs and generate more income should be given more funds to retain their beauty and to take care of history that is engraved in them, rather than being forced to maintain all old buildings.

The government need not only allocate funds but also create and enforce a strong policy for the preservation of old buildings. It is substantial for the employees and tourists to understand the significance of the historical and iconic structures. These remnants of the past reflect the cultural and national identity of one’s nation. It also reflects the passion of the people who built these well-established buildings, as they survived disasters and wars. Furthermore, this can be an inspiration to those who aspire to build buildings that can stand the test of time.

On the other hand, all buildings with feeble structures that can no longer be maintained need to be demolished. Everything has its end and must be built anew with a modern structure. However, if the structure holds a historical rite, it can be renovated, but the government needs to seek a sponsor who can help them fund the complete renovation. It should be someone who values more the history of the building than capitalization.

The preservation of old buildings requires money, effort, and a profound understanding of history. The government and its people need to decide wisely which old buildings can be and must be maintained for the preservation of history and the purpose of the building.