Some people think that children should learn how to compete, but others think that children should be taught on how to cooperate to become more useful adults. Express some reasons for both views and and give your opinion.

It is highly debatable question, whether children must learn to compete or cooperate with each other. This essay will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of teaching children these skills, before presenting my opinion about this dilemma.

Many people love to compete. On the one hand competitions give individuals vast motivation to work harder, get better results than their opponents. Additionally, the sense of joy and pride they feel when getting a higher score increases their self esteem, which helps them confidently face daily challenges, being aware they can excel. On the other hand, children can feel stressed during competition, especially if they fail. These failures have some negative effects, for instance, children can feel lack of confidence, get a feeling that they are worse than their friends or they can even lose their interest in that activity.

To avoid the negative effects listed above, people think of one possible solution, which is teaching children how to cooperate rather than compete. Nowadays, cooperating and ability to work in a team are one of the most important soft skills required to build a strong society becausewe all know that where one is weak, another is strong. Consequently, working together can lead to a greater result. However, this can have some negative effects also. For example when the individual knows, that there is a person who can get the work done by himself, he might prefer stop trying and give up easily.

To sum up, both competing and cooperating are valuable skills. Children should learn to work together and to help each other when it is needed, but it is also essential to compete sometimes, that would help to keep the motivation to study and evaluating their skills.