Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, there has been ongoing debate about the value of reading children novel books. While some people argue that this activity is a waste of time, suggesting that those kids should instead engage in more practical and educational activities. I completely disagree with this view because reading storybooks will help children attain successful careers, cognitive development and personal growth.

As a child, perusing many stories may bolster kids’ mental development. Obviously, storybooks portray good appreciable values, which main characters always maintain. Take, for example, The Tortoise and the Hare which demonstrate how perseverance and resilience can drive success. In addition, those stories are full with imaginary situations, which they boost the child’s cognitive processes. As a result, this will foster children’s innovation leading to a successful career.

Additionally, reading in general is crucial for the creation of good social values. This is because, with reading, kids not only will absorb many life experiences, but also build a sense of understanding of life. For instance, If not all the kid’s stories promote for justice and solidarity, a bit portion of it does; consequently, young generations will grasp those values. As a result, a community full of good citizens who will contribute to the development and thriving of societies.

To sum up, having considered all the augments above, I would conclude that children who read storybooks are not wasting their time, but in fact they are improving their cognitive and personal development to become successful and good members of society when they grow up.