Some people think that companies should be legally required to ensure their employees spend a certain amount of time on leisure and personal development during work hours. Others believe that employers should have total control over how working time is utilized. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The everlasting debate of whether or not the total control shall overrule the freedom of choice has been bogging generations upon generations of workplaces, yet no clear-cut winner is present to this very day. With this essay i am aiming to breakdown the question and give the ultimate verdict based on my personal worldview.

First off, let us adress the arguments for the oppressing, fully manipulating of workhours side of the debate. Among the main reasons to believe that to be a just and reasonable system would be the concept of discipline. Let me provide you with an example. Imagine that: you are an average lower to middle working class. You are burnt out, tired and whatever your job is, you are utterly sick of it. What would you do in such an occurence, that suddenly, it is permissible to structure your corporate hours with only a few regulations. Naturally, you spend as much time away from working, without stressing about what to do. Gradually, over time, you begin getting used to your long breaks, that you have absolute control over. In this case, it begins becoming more and more difficult to get back to a focused state of your mind, rendering your productivity significantly lower. From that perspective, one can clearly see just how devastating the consequences of total freedom can be, given the abstract person i am using as an example never had such priveleges before.

However, ultimately, it is supererogatory for the companies to allow their workforce to shape their time to their liking for maximizing efficiency, while reducing stress factors. Obviously under current law of my country they are not obliged to act so, but it would, in fact, be nice for the workers and, perhaps, the profits.

It is important to keep a keen eye on the actual ways, companies may implement such flexible, customizable shifts for employees, as it does hold potential of ruining as well as improving the workplace overall. One could call such newcomings a double-edged sword of sorts, it really depends on how can you balance between still holding authority, while giving a plausible amount of leeway to the employed