Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There have been conflicting views on whether individuals should compete or cooperate with each other in various aspects of their lives. In my opinion, cooperation is more important because it can help people exceed their limits.

On the one hand, some people claim that competition encourages change. Whether at work, at school, or in daily life, a person cannot win a competition by staying stagnant. In order to win, they must make changes to achieve breakthroughs. The breakthroughs resulting from the competition, in turn, can make a positive impact on people’s lives and even society as a whole. However, I think, sometimes, changes brought about by people working against each other can be detrimental. For example, in the race to dominate the AI industry, companies like Meta and OpenAI are training their AI models using content from publishers without authorization, harming the interests of those publishers.

On the other hand, it is argued that cooperation is a key factor in enabling a person to push past their limits. Every person has their shortcomings. By collaborating and relying on others to handle tasks that they themselves are not good at, individuals can focus on leveraging their strengths, thus achieving outcomes that would be difficult to accomplish alone. I agree with this argument because surpassing personal limits can be highly rewarding, both financially and psychologically, making it more advantageous to cooperate than to compete.

In conclusion, although competition may drive change, I believe cooperation is ultimately more beneficial because we are more likely to transcend our limits through joint efforts than through rivalry.