Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

At present, the issue of how people should approach their work remains relevant, as some individuals believe that being united is what can help society achieve more, while the others are convinced that it is better to compete with colleagues. In this essay, I will discuss both views.

On the one hand, there is an opinion that colleagues are more likely to show efficient results when working together, since they share their knowledge with each other and, as a result, develop a unique approach. Furthermore, when people cooperate, they do not only learn new information from others, but also acquire useful communicational skills. For instance, my father – a manager of a business organisation – needs to work with a variety of people throughout his business development path. If he did not cooperate with his colleagues properly, it would be impossible for him to develop the company, as he would not know the other workers’ suggestions about the business improvement. What is more, my father has gained experience in finding a common language with people, and it helps them both in business and in his daily life.

On the other hand, competition at work does not necessarily mean being against each other – on the contrary, it might motivate the colleagues to achieve their highest results to exceed themselves. This approach helps people to focus on their self-development, since they are aspired to reach successful results and, therefore, prove themselves that they stand out in their area of work. For example, my mother has been working as a hairdresser since she was 20, and she has always paid attention to her own work path in comparison with her colleagues’ success. Ultimately, this approach has helped her to upgrade her skills in this sphere and excel both her previous achievements and the other workers.

To conclude, cooperating and competing at work might be useful for people. Nevertheless, I am certain that competing is more efficient, as thus people remain more motivated to stand out and achieve success.