Some people think that competitive sports should be a compulsory part of the school curriculum. Others believe that they can be harmful and that non-competitive physical activities are better for students. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Students nowadays, have been divulging themselves in sports as part of the curriculum in an academic institution. While some individuals support that sporting competition should be included in the course at school, others disagree and believe that this kind of activity is unsafe for their children and could be dangerous to the student’s well being. This essay will discuss these two views and the reasons behind these views.

On the first hand, some people fully understand that competitive sports should be part of the school curriculum, since allowing their children to join in the sporting competition is an extra-curricular activity. Many parents believe that aside from academic learning that the school offers, the institution also needs to be the haven in which the students will learn sports and to provide an enriching experience actively by letting the students compete. With this kind of method, some students may discover their passion for doing sports; channeling themselves from academic to becoming an athlete in the future.

On the other hand, one of the concerns of parents for their students aside from learning is their overall safety within and outside the school. Thus, these parents are against the implementation of sporting competitions as one of the parts in the curriculum. They view sports as physically demanding and a taxing activity for their students, hence it is harmful to learners physically, mentally and emotionally. These parents prefer that the extra-curricular activities that the school offers should be non-competetive and fair in which students can enjoy their time doing these activities without feeling the pressure to win and bring home a medal.

While this debate is an ongoing trend for most parents, I believe that it is important for the school to give a conducive atmosphere for learning within or outside the scope of the school curricula. Schools should give high regards to the safety of the students, thus, providing a safe and fair activity is better than organizing a highly competitive sporting events. For instance, schools can facilitate fairs in which there is no need for learners to feel pressure joining the activity. Instead, learners can allow themselves to freely choose what activity they can join and to participate actively without being pressured to win.