Some people think that constructing bigger roads will help to prevent traffic problems. To what extent do you agree?

A number of people think that constructing bigger roads assist to alleviate traffic issues. I completely agree with this statement, it is not the most effective long-term strategy to prevent traffic problems.

On the one hand, building larger roads can help to reduce traffic congestion in the short term. When a road is widened, the amount of vehicles increases. Moreover, new roads bring a lot of cars. Widened roads encourage people to drive because people are comfortable in wide roads. In addition, people also do not spend more time in traffic jams in short term. As a result, people may experience shorter travel times and less stress while drive.

However, in the long term, this solution may not be effective. Building bigger road requires a large amount money and space. In addition, constructing large road cause long-term, noisy, and air pollution. Chemical matters spread to air and it cause air contamination. On the other hand, broad areas are very vital for wide roads, but area insfrastructure is very poor. Therefore, this ways not the main strategy.

In my opinion, building large roads are not good methods because it creates a lot of traffic congestion. This method encourages people to drive and it increases the amount of vehicles.

In conclusion, I believe that building bigger roads is not an effective long-term solution to traffic issues. Instead, government should focus on improvement public transport and it should decreases the number of private vehicles.