Some people think that developments involving the internet have brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some claim that internet has resulted in people become closer while other argue that the opposite is happening and many societies have become more isolated. Although, the internet can cause isolation in some cases, I believe that it brings more people closer as it allows people to communicate with each other even in distance.

On the one hand, internet can have a negative impact on the young individuals such as by spending excessive amount of time using mobile devices and playing games instead of spending times with their parents. This result in parents become less close with their children as they don’t get to spend time together. The same is true for friends, for instance, individuals may play online games all the times and forget to hang out or enjoy their free time with friends. This can make the people become detached from the real world and eventually cause isolation.

On the other hand, one primary reason why I think internet bring people closer is because it provides opportunities to make new friends as well as to talk with friends and family members anywhere and anytime. Not only that but it can be beneficial for those who have to work or study in places away from homes. A clear example is the international students who study in foreign country. Being able to use internet allows such students to talk more conveniently with their family and without the internet, the family bond can become weaken.

In conclusion, excessive usage of internet can make people become isolated from the communities, I would still argue that it brings people together as it provides people with chances to keep in touch with their family members and friends.