Some people think that employers should focus on the personal qualities of potential job seekers instead their academic qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

The debate over hiring employees is often widely discussed among experts. While emphasising character traits is totally understandable, I strongly disagree that they should place a greater focus on these values than formal credentials.

It is believed that personal qualities of individuals in particular workplaces are paramount. For example, being a person who has a strong work ethic and a positive attitude can be highly beneficial. Such a person can be trained in specific technical aspects, whereas for other employees who don’t possess these qualities, it would be difficult to cultivate them. For customer service or command roles, it is indeed important to have employees who have qualities like empathy and can be entrusted to be successful. However, disregarding academic qualifications and professional skills is detrimental. An employee who has high-quality academic performance assures the employer that there will be a prosperous future for the workplace. The high-quality academic performance of an employee in educational settings assures the employer that they will make a significant contribution to the future prosperity of the workplace.

In conclusion, the most effective strategy depends on the job. For low-pressure jobs, personal qualities might be enough, but for technical roles or other significant jobs, verified experience is inevitable. Therefore, employers should seek both professional and personal qualities, requiring wisdom and professionalism.