Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds that the phenomenon of an aging population can offer some drawbacks for society, while the alternative stance asserts that modernization in the whole world enhances the quality of human life. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this contentious argument and then explain why I agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, non-proponents of the trend that the older generation continues to grow tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, declining birth rates will spark the economic burden of society. It implies that the trend of older people spending more than younger puts pressure on healthcare systems and challenges for supporting essential elderly services, forcing the government to spend a large amount of money for the former. Another compelling reason is that it has an unfavorable impact on economic performance. This is because the shortage of a young workforce leads to a decline productivity, hence creation of less product, making the economy develop slowly.

On the other hand, I advocate for those who believe that modern life makes it easier for citizens to survive. The primary reason is that as society progressed, the medical system expanded. One way of explaining this development is that it enhances residents health, especially seniors who have many years of manufacturing experience. Furthermore, the growth of technology helps people not have to spend too much energy to work. It means that the advancement of machines offers a variety of modern production techniques; thus, human labor is replaced by robot operation. One such example of this is that robots can work continuously without breaks or fatigue, leading to increased productivity and efficiency in production processes.

To sum up, I believe that both sides are justifiable. However, on balance, although the aging population causes a burden on the healthcare system and collapses economic performance, mordenization can increase longevity to keep experienced workers, and improved technology can enhance economic efficiency.