Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

We live in an age where several people believe that ageing is a negative thing, whilst others opine that people do not have the same difficulties as they did in the past. I completely support the first view, and, in this essay, I intend to explore the struggles that old people need to face, and evaluate what modern technology helps.

On the one hand, older people tend to lose physical abilities and develop psychological issues. With time people lose strength in their muscles, needing assistance to do daily basis tasks. As a result, they become less independent and bored. In addition, they could potentially develop a psychological disease due to depression caused by their reduced independence. For instance, statistics show that, in nursing homes, older people have a high rate of psychological issues because they just remain in their seats all day long, unable to do ordinary activities. Indisputably, they get bored and sad, leading to depression.

On the other hand, the advancements in technology enhanced people’s life quality. Nowadays, there are specialized robots which could potentially assist older people, removing the need for personal assistance. However, this type of machinery is expensive, and, because of that, it is very restricted to a small number of people. Thus, I do not believe that everyone has their life eased by the advantages of modern society. To illustrate, an enormous number of people who need breathing machines are waiting for government support to acquire them. Consequently, they are suffering because they do not have the required capital to purchase this type of machine.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that getting old is a negative thing, and I would argue that, although modern society eases several lives, the majority are not able to enjoy such benefits.