Some people think that government should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier.

Today, the effect of diet on health status is a well-established fact, and some would recommend the state to enhance the public well-being by regulating their diet. Personally, I believe that in the long term, these actions will have a positive impact; because, the government is responsible for lives of the people, and taxes have been proved useful in changing distructive habits.

In many regions of the world there is a secretary of health with the main purpose of attenuating diseases. Therefore, it is upon this settlement to undertake the necessary interventions to alleviate the pressure on the healthcare system. For instance, when the prevelance of Anemia sky-rocketed in Iran, the ministery of health decided to distribute iron supplements among school girls above the age of menustration. This act, prevented this epidemiological concern to escalate further.

Another generic measure by the government for controlling the burden of diseases is setting to certain items that are hazardous to health. As an example, several years ago, the government of Canada had put a very substantial tax on nicotine products, to avoid the youth from addiction. Ten years after the initiation of this policy they witnessed a decrease in the consumption of nicotine products, and as a result, the incidence of lung cancer also decreased. This demonstrates that putting up taxes on unhealthy products can have a favorable impact on the public.

In conclusion, the government should take apropriate actions for improving people’s diet and putting up tax can be a promising policy. Consequently, I agree that this measure can promote the public health by affecting a vast majority of the society.