Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the last few years there is an ongoing debate around the retirement. This has produced two thought ideas because they are arguing if it’s correct or not to have a set retirement age to everybody. I believe it surely depends on various statements; nevertheless, I have to agree that somebody needs to receive a pension at an earlier age than the other.

A group of individuals arguing that it’s unfair that everybody has to retire on a set age because nowadays some people don’t have the right strength to work. Consequently, they would get tired faster that younger people so they would be less productive with things they manage. I had the chance to see this scenario during the internship I did last year. The older people did every task they had to do without complain. Despite all, sometimes their work wasn’t totally correct, and they spent much time finishing it. Therefore, this took precious time in our strong time schedule that could have been used for the next tasks. Although those arguments are concrete, there are individuals who disagree with this statement.

Those people think it’s correct the assumption that everyone would receive a pension on the same set age for different reasons. If governments have decided this, it means that they have studied pros and cons and it could help to stay on a valid amount of costs for them. Moreover, those individuals believe in equal opportunities; They agree it’s appropriate that everybody would receive the same benefits, regardless their jobs. In order to that, who builds houses is certainly doing a challenging job but who could say this isn’t the same for a nurse? It’s impossible defining which job needs the advantage of early retirement.

In conclusion, both propositions are valid because the individual’s statements are reals. Nevertheless, my opinion couldn’t change because I believe that the actual set age for retirement is a little bit high and the older people, even if they do their best they tend to make errors easily, so the productivity could get lower.