Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In present times, the work-life balance has been disturbed severely for most of the people working in their occupation. They suffer through a lot of stress and anxiety while doing their jobs. Hence, the question arises of whether to retire at the age of 65 or not. Different individuals have different views about this statement.

People who support the argument think that it is a good decision to retire at the age of 65 and enjoy the rest of the life with incoming pension. They believe that a person after the age of 65 should quit their work and focus on doing hobbies such as hiking, reading and so on which makes him happy instead of stressful work. Additionally, in some jobs like army or certain government services where the amount of physical work is more, it is good to retire at an specific age as the body would not be able to take such type of pressure. Furthermore, it also create vacancies on the higher ranks which leads to promotion as well as recruitment of young members.

While, on the other hand, some are also against the argument and feel that the person himself should decide whether he wants to retire or not. As, there are few people who enjoy working in their profession very much as if it is like their hobby. So for them life after retirement would become very boring. In addition to it, many people don’t get pension after retirement. So for those people, it woud be very difficult to survive if the source of income is stopped.

Therefore, to conclude, I agree that the retirement should be set to 65 years of age compulsorily. However, it should be only limited to jobs where the individuals get pension after retirement. Otherwise, a person should decide his retirement age.