Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, we have seen that changing retirement age is a very hot topic and many people have different views on it. Some people feel that there should not be a set retirement age as workers who are working in difficult environment deserves an early retirement however few people argue with it and they strong condemn this notion. However, I strongly believe that there should be a modification in terms of retirement age, and it should change according to the occupation.

Turning first of all to the arguments in favor of this statement, retirement age should not be constant as some people works in a very toxic environment which involves hectic labor work. There are few workers who work in different chemical factories or stores which involves lifting 40-50 lbs of goods continuously without any rest or handling different chemicals which they might end up in breathing or smelling. This kind of employees usually suffers different kind of health issues due to which they could not able to work till 65. Doctors stated that employees who are working in stores or chemical factories are more susceptible to life threatening health-related issues like asthma, lung cancer or heart problems as compared to the other people who are working in companies such as software engineers or banking sector.

As far as other side of this debate is concerned, it is generally acknowledged that there should be a set retirement age as everyone should be treated equally and they feel that their jobs are as difficult as other people who are working in stores or chemical factories as they are continuously using their logical and cognitive thinking in solving complex problems.

To sum up, I strongly believe that there is a need to revise the retirement age and it should be different for different workers depending on their occupation as I have seen few people who are working in different stores as well as chemical factories and they are suffering from many life threatening issues at an age of 55-60 and they will not be able to continue till 65.