Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

International sports event have always been a remarkable moment in the history of a country in a both positive and negative way. Despite the big promotion that a country can obtain hosting this kind of events, there are a lot of tricky aspects that one must consider in order to not a make a mess. Many people believes that is just a big waste of public money while others are convinced that is a big opportunity for the country to be more attractive for new tourists. Let us examine both views before getting to a conclusion.

Promotion and money are the main reasons for which a country host a huge sports event such as the olympics. It brings new tourists not only during the event itself but also after its conclusion. Travellers are an important source of money for a country because every penny they spend is an entrance for the nation. Furthermore, International tournaments creates new occupations and help to develope the areas in which the competitions took place. For instance, the olympic village in Rome was built in a empty area of the city and now it has became a beatiful residential zone.

On the other hand, host a big tournament like the World Cup has a tremendous cost that not always is compensated by the incomes made by the event itself. In fact, is quite usual that the event had a negative impact on the economy of the nation.

Another crucial point are the standars of new buildings made for the occasion. They are often made in few months with material of poor quality causing a short lifetime of the constructions which deteriorates soon.

In conclusion, I personally think that hosting an international event sn a positive thing overall because, despite the economical risk, the promotion is certain and I am sure that this translates into a long term income for the country.