Some people think that housing facilities should be built in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while others believe that parks should be set instead. Planting trees is very important for the environment. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The topic of building housing facilities in empty spaces of cities and towns is a very controversial one. Some people agree, stating that, with the increase in the urban population, there should be more housing opportunities, and I acknowledge that; but I firmly believe that we need to focus on establishing parks and planting trees. They are more beneficial to the environment and the people.

Firstly, greenery is one of the most crucial parts of our well-being and the well-being of our environment. In the day, plants absorb CO2 from vehicles, factories, and many other CO2-releasing things and release oxygen to help us breathe fresh air rather than the toxic air that the city/town has. Trees provide shade from the sun in case people want to go out and get some fresh air without being in the heat of the sun. It also helps in reducing global warming, a huge issue we are facing right now.

Secondly, parks are one of the only places where kids can run free, play, and explore without negative consequences and risks. Not only kids, but also people wanting to have a picnic, reading a book surrounded by greenery, walking, and playing with their dogs. All these and more can be done, which would help our mental health and give us a break from everything going on in our lives.

Thirdly, we can’t forget that the population is increasing; we indeed are in need of more housing, but we can come up with better ways to use these vacant areas. We could limit the area taken for buildings by making them taller and thus absorbing more apartments and housing more people. We could also try to make a good balance between parks and housing facilities.

In conclusion, we need both parks and housing facilities, but there is significant importance in having parks. Step by step, we can try to heal the earth while still addressing our needs.