Some people think that increasing the price of sugar is the best way to handle the crisis of obesity. To what extent do you agree or disaree?

Some individuals are of the opinion handling the problem of more people becoming overweight can be achieved optimally if the price of sugar is increased deliberately. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion based on some reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some reasons that explain why increasing the price of sugar can be an effective measure against the surging severity of the obesity crisis around the world. In this day and age, the price of sugar has become increasingly affordable due to better agricultural techniques and the optimization of production. Also, sugar is known for its power stimulating effect on humans’ reward system, eventually leading to its universal presence in our food and causing excessive weight gain due to its high caloric content. If the price of sugar is increased deliberately, its demand would plunge in an idealistic market, forcing people to consume healthier food options and alleviating the problem of obesity.

On the other hand, when the price of sugar is surged too excessively to regulate its demand, there could be multiple negative consequences that we must be aware of. A rise in price of this cooking ingredient that is enough for a reduction in demand to occur would need to be excessive as sugar is a cornerstone in humans’ cuisine for thousands of years. Thus, this measure is extremely likely to receive backlash from the general public, especially ones from disadvantageous socio- economic background who do not have a high income level of healthier food options. Also, processed food has been proven as a main culprit behind obesity, meaning that specifically targeting sugar may not be sufficient to initiate an improvement in peoples’ dietary habits.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining the needed measure that can help people avoid becoming overweight, I believe that while sugar should become more expensive to a degree, other supplemental measures should also be combined.