Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve intelligence through learning. Discuss both sides and give your opinions.

Some people believe that IQ level is a hereditary trait determined at birth, while others opine that it is predominantly enhanced by adopting learning habits. Despite the validity of both perspectives, I believe that intelligence is not solely affected by genetic factors. Both sides of the argument regarding intelligence, and the reason why some people believe one view and others the second, will be discussed in this essay.

It is often said that the environment a child grows up in, including exposure to different experiences and access to resources can significantly impact their acquired intellectual development. To achieve this, encouraging the children to experience new things from an early age, as well as allowing them to make mistakes could serve as a mental exercise that shapes their brain capacity. Such exercising, consequently, enhances their cleverness and improves their passion and perseverance in facing new challenges. Supplementary to this, nurturing the children and learning new skills, for example, musical skills, seems to have a direct relationship with their intellect. So, it is understandable that a section of society emphasizes inheritance of cleverness.

On the other hand, it is clear that individuals obtain their genetics from their parents. This fact, therefore, asserts that not only physical features but also moral traits could be inherent from parents to children, that eye color, as well as intelligence and creativity, are exemplified of physical and moral characteristics, respectively. Although their claim that a person’s IQ is fixed and cannot be changed is illogical and unconvincing, the significant roles of genetic factors are reasoned by some scientific researchers who studied twins and families. These studies declare a strong relationship between the intelligence of biologically related individuals and confirm that it could be predetermined as a result of genes.

To recapitulate, regarding the controversy over whether intelligence should be accounted as an inherent trait or obtained from personal efforts, it is absolutely reasonable that talent is a complex feature and both contrasting arguments could be appreciated. By taking everything into account, I am convinced that this ability is rooted in nature and nurture, and environmental factors have positive effects on expanding the brain’s capabilities over time.