Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to show imported foreign films and TV programs. Other people think that a country should develop their own films and TV programs instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Blockbusters, TV series and shows from various countries have gained significant popularity around the world thanks to the availability of Internet connections in this boom of globalization. As far as I am concerned, it is illogical to jump to the conclusion that imported films and TV programs would lessen the significance of domestic ones and the local entertainment industry. Any undue emphasis on either domestic or foreign productions would be not recommended.

On the one hand, supporters of local films and programs would put forth arguments relating to national identity. Concerning cultural factors, domestic films and programs are representation and narration of its own civilization and thus reveal the distinct identity of people in that nation. This notion maintains and even strengthens people’s belief in national pride, consequently defending the nation from turbulence and separation. Moreover, in order to boost national values, domestic films and TV series, for one thing, aim at conserving the traditions, so that the current generation would appreciate and embrace the beauty of their country. Consistently producing local movies and programs, for another, helps to introduce and commercialise the culture to the world and reinforces tourism of its own country.

On the other hand, there are several benefits of adopting filming products and programs from a different country. The most tangible one is profits obtained from movie or show franchises that draw wide attention from the public. Admittedly, compared to local works that viewers are already familiar with, exotic products largely entertain a predominating number of audience and satisfy their curiosity of cultural background, history and human values from a different country. Henceforth, not only could the audience widen their pool of choices but the local entertainment industry also gains economic returns by selling images and tickets. Furthermore, this trend could be considered as a medium to boost acculturation and cross-culture. If local viewers were to expose themselves to foreign Tv programs, they would discover more about the external environment and gradually digest the trivial differences, which helps tourists, oversea students, business travellers and migrants between cultures communicate and merge more easily. In regard to less professional local film and TV makers, they would possibly have opportunities to learn, if necessary, from excellent examples set by international blockbusters and TV series.

From my perspective, imported and local productions are not necessarily contradictory and should be both supported by the audience and the governments as merits above to promote and diversify the national entertainment industry simultaneously.