Some people think that it is important to spend money on family celebrations. But some think that expensive celebrations are a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary world, holding expensive parties on special occasions is becoming more commonplace. It is, however, debatable whether people should spend money on such occasions or it is a waste of money. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, organizing luxurious family celebrations brings people many great benefits. Firstly, these celebrations can be an ideal time for family gatherings. Obviously, people these days tend to be swamped with their work or studies. Therefore, it gives them opportunities to reunite and update each other on their lives to strengthen bonds between family members. Secondly, splurging money on special occasions can create memorable memories. For example, a wedding day is a once in a lifetime event that people want to remember for the rest of their lives. They will use larger budgets to ensure that important occasions leave lasting impressions.

On the other hand, excessive expenditure on luxurious events can have some serious drawbacks. To begin with, people spending too much money to celebrate can lead to financial strains. Some people may prioritize hosting expensive parties over essential needs such as education, and healthcare. Consequently, it affects their long-term financial stability and forget to take care of their health or other demands. Also, for those who have low income, it is not vital to sustain their lives. Another downside is that organizing these occasions also creates expectations from children, friends and family members that it is normal. If the budget does not allow for them in the future, they cannot come up to their expectations and be disappointed.

In conclusion, holding expensive events can be both advantageous by boosting family bonds and having unforgettable memories and disadvantageous by financial problems and a sense of disappointment. In my opinion, its advantages far outweigh its disadvantages.