Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

With the recent upsurge in world industrialization, many people have found it a wise decision for industries and big companies to relocate to outskirts of cities, rather to stay in city centers. This, however has a number of benefits, which I believe is overweighing the involving drawbacks.

On the plus side, there are positive points in regards to big companies’ relocation to the zones outside of the cities. First and foremost, such big industries are playing a part in cities’ air pollution. Take manufactures as an example, if they stay in urban centers, they would cause a great deal of pollutions such as air pollutions, due to their fumes emissions. Moreover, moving to outer cities would benefit companies as well, they probably can expand their company size and make it bigger, because of the affordability of the buildings in areas out of the cities. Consequently, they can provide their employees with better amenities and working environment. This would therefore, leads to a better productivity of their employees.

However, the downsides of this decision cannot be ignored. Firstly, the employees’ commute may be negatively impacted, especially for whom who do not drive to work and heavily rely on public transport. Generally speaking, public transport coverages tend to be lower outside of most cities. This can pose employees in difficulty to get to their job on time. Furthermore, companies and industries might face difficulties in terms of meeting their daily needs such as food and drinks. The more they get far from cities, the harder would it be for them to make their purchases

To conclude, regardless of the negative aspects of industries’ relocation to outer cities, including the potential difficulties in commuting and shopping, I believe that such relocation could bring about more important benefits not only for cities but also for themselves, such as lowering the air pollution in cities, and the possibility of providing more facilities to employees.