Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the purpose of domestic animals for children can create debates, about their advantages and disadvantages. Some people think that kids should have pets to earn more responsibility and to enjoy more their childhood. However, others argue that pets could be a risk children’s health. In my opinion, I believe that pets bring a lot of benefits to children such as autonomy or kindness, but I must admit that parents have to choose carefully their domestic animals to protect their son or daughter.

On the one hand, we can consider that a pet could represent a fellow that would bring many advantages. Firstly, handle a pet requier to be responsible. Therefore, if a child take care about his domestic anima, he will learn how to be more autonomous. Secondly, a pet can also develop the children kindness. Indeed, take care of a fellow everyday help to be more empathetic. Thirdly, it’s also a way, for a kid, to be more open-minded, to discover other activities, particularly outside. For example, organizing a daily walk whith a dog may reduce the time spent on computer, video games or smartphone.

On the other hand, it’s interesting to notice, that usually, people who are opposed to keeping pets for their children consider a domestic animal like a threat. They believe that a pet can spread disease or could be violent and hurt their child. Indeed, some pets might be aggressive and it wouldn’t be prudent to let a bulldog with a young kids. For example, if I had a son, I would never let him, play with an American bully.

To conclude, from my point of view, pets could be a positive experience for kids, because they help them to be more responsible and more autonomous. Furthermore, animal domestics are usually loved by children. For instance, most of French households with children have a cat or a dog in their house. Nevertheless, parents must protect their kids and prevent any type of threat. Consequently, they have to choose carefully an eventual pet such as a cat, a little dog or a fish.