Some people think that modern technology is making people less sociable, while others believe that it helps people to communicate more effectively. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided among the population with regard to the impact of technology to people’s communication. While some individuals think that it made communication less personal and less meaningful, others believe that with the help of technology ways of communication developed. I support both views and think that even though people’s communication became less personal, technology made it easy and convenient.

On the one hand, mobile phone calls or internet chats are not able to show emotional condition of person accordingly. For example, if one person shares his lost with another on phone, he can’t get physical touching like hugging which is very important during such periods. As physical connection gives relaxation and make person to calm down, distance communication makes it impossible to have. Therefore, speaking on mobile phones or internet chats are considered not very personal and meaningful.

On the other hand, positive impact of technology on communication is magnificent. Especially, it improved communication in rural areas and for people who are living overseas. For instance, in old days it was difficult to meet with relatives who live in countryside. As it is mostly old people who prefer to live in villages, many children could meet their grandparents only during school holidays. However, it changed now significantly and old generation can speak with their loved ones using smartphones and even can see them. Daily communication makes their relationship stronger.

Moreover, with the help of developed technology communication with people who live in other countries also improved. For example, in old days, the only way to speak with person who is in overseas was letters, which took long time to deliver. However, in recent years it is possible to do it anytime at any place. Now, international students can speak with their parents frequently.

In conclusion, while technology made communication less personal for some individuals, it improved relationship in many families by making communication possible even in long distance. Therefore, from my perspective, speaking on phones can be less meaningful, but it gives chance to do very often.