Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world, the aim of museums has been a subject of heated debate. Although some contend that these places should be educational spots, I believe that the entertaining purpose is superior as it can bring about more visitors.

The primary purpose of museums should be the places to teach people about things they did not previously know. For example, in the Vietnam War remnants museum, it is important to inform visitors about the history of each object. This can be done in various ways. Some museums could employ professional guides to directly cultivate this knowledge in visitors, while others could offer guidebooks or leaflets to provide museum-goers with details about the exhibition. By doing so, museums can play a pivotal role in teaching people about history, science, and others. However, I contend that such thinking is solely valid to a limited extent. If the average visitors are overexposed to educational content, they will be more likely to get bored and be reluctant to revisit the museum complex.

On the other hand, museums should be entertaining spots to attract an influx of visitors. To this end, these exhibition halls need to exhibit an impressive of collection of interesting objects. For example, the Museum of Pop Culture provides interactive exhibitions on music, science fiction, and contemporary art, engaging visitors through multimedia displays and hands-on activities. Hence, the quantity of visitors is projected to rise, entailing a growth in the museums’ revenues. These income sources enable museums to spend on other sectors, such as maintaining facilities, conversation and restoration of artworks or artefacts, and technology integration.

In conclusion, although some argue that museums should solely focus on education purposes, I maintain that these places should also focus on entertaining aspects to attract more tourists.