Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The role of museums tends to be viewed differently, with one emphasizing its recreational aspect and the other on its educational purpose. This essay will look into both perspectives in further detail and outline their main arguments before coming to a balanced conclusion.

On the one hand, there are legitimate concerns for museums to be entertaining. These amenities are frequented by mostly curious tourists who want to experience first-hand the novelties that these buildings have to offer. Therefore, appeal is a major factor to take into account as an average visitor can get bored easily if they encounter, for example, a wall of text concerning an in-depth analysis of an extinct dinosaur comprising of jargon and sophisticated concepts. As a result, most museums attempt to present their artifacts in an aesthetically pleasing way and keep the description as simple and engaging as possible.

On the other hand, museums also serve as vital learning hubs due to the immense collection at their disposal. These depositories contain a vast array of valuable items found nowhere else, namely historical relics, paintings, or even exotic live creatures. As such, museums offer visitors a chance to learn about things that they would otherwise never experience in a day-to-day environment. For example, the Oceanic Research Institute in Nha Trang houses the single largest display of marine life in Vietnam, including species of crustaceans from faraway islands as well as fossils of long-disappeared fishes. For many people, this particular facility offers a unique opportunity to learn about the biodiversity of their region and be informed about critical dangers like climate change.

On balance, this essay assumes a neutral stance and believes that trips to museums should be a pleasurable experience but also provide knowledge about new topics to visitors.