Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a controversial issue as to whether newly built houses should be designed in the same style as existing homes in the same area, or whether the residents should be given permission to constructing their houses in a style of their own preference. My view is that people should be given the permission to build their houses to their own design, as long as these designs satisfy all the necessary safety requirement.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why all buildings in a particular area should have the same style. Firstly, when houses look similar, it will enhance a sense of communities and equality within a residential area. This is because a house often reflect the wealth and social status of its owner. If a house looks older, smaller, and less attractive than others, the people living there may feel inferior and less confident when socialise with their neighbours. In contrast, a house which stands out in the neighbourhood could potentially make its owner the target of gossip or be burglarized. Secondly, when houses share a common design, it will be easier for the local government to supervise the process of construction, and to make sure that these buildings are safe for both the inhabitants and the neighbour.

On the other hand, it should be people’s right to build their own house in their own style. A good building should satisfy all three principles of durability, utility, and beauty. It should not only be strong in design and be built to last a long time, but also inspires the people who live there by its aesthetic design. It is extremely important for a person to live in a house that they feel comfortable with as it largely affect their spirit. Furthermore, if each house in an area is built in a unique style, it will greatly contribute for the diverse image of the town.

In conclusion, even though there are certain justifications for houses in an area to be constructed in the same style, I am of the opinion that governments should permit people to build their houses according to their own ideas.