Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn news. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe newspapers are the most reliable way to update information about events happening around the world, whereas others believe other forms of media, for example, television or the internet, to be the superior way to learn about the news. This essay contends that the latter statement is true.

Newspapers are argued to be much more informative than other channels to readers as the writing quality is considered to be excellent. Nevertheless, there are a plethora of demerits that newspapers unfortunately have. Compared to other media, newspapers are considered to be much more expensive, both in economic and environmental terms, which include the process of cutting down trees to make paper, printing, in addition to the transportation and distribution costs along with generated carbon emissions. Furthermore, newspapers often experience a delay in reporting news to readers due to the inherent delays from printing and delivery.

In contrast, alternative news platforms offer a great variety of news and reports that are tailored to the interests of each reader at a moment’s notice, with news updated for each and every reader. Alternative news platforms also provide a more comprehensive and objective picture of international and national events across the world, as newspapers can manipulate their writing to suit or satisfy a certain agenda. In addition, they also generate much less operational and environmental expenses while maintaining a great level of relevancy, as any post or report can be automatically posted on to the internet without going through any process of printing or distribution that traditional newspapers have to go through.

In conclusion, despite the reputation that traditional newspapers earned from its superb writing quality, they lack the speed and efficiency that alternative news platforms offer, as well as having comparatively high environmental and economic costs. Therefore, this essay believes newspapers are an inferior way to learn about the news compared to other media outlets.