Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the impact of plastic bags on the environment has become a common argument among the public. Some people consider that plastic bags should be banned since they are a major cause of environmental pollution. I completely agree with the statement because they have numerous side effects on both the ecosystem and the organism.

First and foremost, plastic bags are difficult and expensive to recycle. A handful of people might recycle plastic bags, however, most people just throw them into the trash. Consequently, this increases the number of landfill sites which has a significant impact on soil pollution. Moreover, plastics are non-biodegradable hence it is estimated that they can persist in the environment for hundreds of years. Instead of relying on single-use bags, we should use reusable bags made from materials such as cotton or nylon.

Secondly, plastic bags are a critical contributor to water pollution. When plastic bags are in the ocean, they decompose slowly and can be eaten by marine species and can even cause death due to suffocation or injury. For example, over 1 million marine animals, including turtles and fish are dying every year due to the presence of plastic. In addition, it poses a potential risk to human health by releasing toxic chemicals.

A minority of people may argue that plastic bags are convenient and cost-effective for people. However, in my opinion, the long-term environmental and health costs are more significant than the short-term conveniences.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that plastic bags should be prohibited since they are hard to recycle and harmful to wildlife, ecosystems and human health.