Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

What goes through the criminal’s mind when they commit minor/major crime? Are they aware of the risks or act unconsciously, against their will? Surprisingly, it is common allegation to pin the poverty as the reason behind most crimes. From my perspective, many other factors contribute to the fact that crimes can be committed by anyone, despite their social and economic level.

To begin with, healthy state of mentality is significant for a human being to function “correctly”. To be exact, with special illnesses or conditions people cannot be taken responsible for their own actions, therefore, can harm someone unintentionally. For instance, just recently a therapist was found dead in NYC and the murderer was her own client, proving that unstable mentality can force people to do horrible things and lose control.

Furthermore, the reason people forcefully commit crime happens to be blackmail. To be specific, in today’s world access to private or even illegal information is like a piece of cake for the hackers. Additionally, a person is forced to action against their will and in most cases, they have no choice to obey and commit crime. Unfortunately, a famous rapper P. Diddy was charged with blackmail and human trafficking, along with other serious crimes, the law suit was filed by his wife. Without a doubt, a famous musician is nowhere near to be described as poor, however he committed numerous violations all in fear of being blackmailed by unknown source.

Due to the reasons and examples given above, it is clear that crimes can be committed by anyone, despite their reputation, mental state, or social level, however the reason behind most illegal actions certainly is not poverty.