Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government, while others think that people should be responsible for their own health.

Nowadays, public health is a crucial issue that affects every member of society. It is argued that some individuals think that governments should be responsible for the health of the population, while others believe people should take responsibility for their own well-being. Both opinions have their aspects, however I believe that the responsibility for staying healthy should mainly depend on individuals, as they make healthy lifestyle choices by themselves.

On the one hand, government plays vital role in public health by implementing public health policies and investing medical facilities. Governments can control the compounds and the levels of safety of both food and medicines through enforcing laws and policies. For example, restaurants and pharmaceutical companies must meet required standards before selling their products to the public. Moreover, governments finance medical facilities, such as preventive healthcare compaigns, hospitals and clinics, which give opportunities for people to receive treatment regardless their financial conditions. For instance, during COVID-19 pandemic government funding was essential to provide free vaccines, testing, and hospital care.

On the other hand, personal effort is a key factor to maintain healthy life through making healthy lifestyle choices in their daily lives. Positive health behaviors, such as eating balanced diet, exercising regularly, avoiding a sedentary lifestyle, and do not consuming tobacco and alcohol products, reduce the risk of serious diseases. For example, choosing nutritious foods over junk food helps maintain strong immune system and improves overall well-being.

In conclusion, while government enforces important healthcare laws and invest medical facilities, the responsibility of staying healthy relies more on individuals . Because by making sensible lifestyle choices, people not only guarantee their health, but also contribute to society’s overall health.