Some people think that public transport should be free, especially in big cities. Do you think free public transportation will have more advantages or disadvantages.

It is widely debated whether public transport vehicles should be free of charge, particularly in large cities. While some people support this idea, I strongly disagree. Free public transportation systems’ disadvantages may considerably outweigh its advantages for several key reasons.

On the one hand, when transport becomes free, the demand rises sharply which can significantly deteriorate the qualitative service. Residents might massively choose public transportation systems rather than private cars, however, this demand means a constant crowd and poor service. For example, the shortage of passenger seats can be a huge issue particularly for pregnant women, elderly and disabled people. In addition, this trend may cause technical issues such as delays and low maintenance, which also lowers the significance of free cost vehicles. Finally, its disadvantages continue with less respect for cleanness and reduced comfort can gradually discourage citizens from taking buses, metro and other public transports, lowering their worth. Overall, this paragraph discusses disadvantages of how defunding can spark quality-related issues.

On the other hand, there are some advantages of free transportation systems ranging from social equality to environmental impact. Cost-free transport allows for low-income groups to commute efficiently without spending extra money on daily trips. Moreover, this pattern can result in reducing environmental harm, since fewer private cars can significantly reduce air pollution and traffic congestion. As an example, 20 people on the bus would be more likely to use or rent private vehicles which could dramatically increase Co2 emission levels, however by using the bus this level could be dropped notably. Nevertheless, constant crowds on public vehicles can lead to delays and low maintenance which would discourage people from taking them up, implying that its long term effects may not be efficient. To sum up, this paragraph highlights the advantages of free transportation systems, giving a clear example and counterargument.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that disadvantages of fare free transport systems outweigh its disadvantages for reasons mentioned above which include delays, constant crowd, less clean environment and long term inefficiency.