Some people think that rich countries should support poor countries in terms of aid for health care and education. To what extend do you agree?

A certain set of the population opines that developed nations should provide assistance to underdeveloped or developing nations for improving their healthcare and education systems. I totally agree with this notion, as proper healthcare and education facilities would aid in the holistic development of individuals and keep everyone away from epidemics.

To begin with, settled countries have ample resources in terms of knowledge, people, facilities and finance, which, if invested and shared in helping other countries, would bring a significant change in the living standards of a poor country’s population. Moreover, this investment would not only aid in the rapid development of the area but also ensure the holistic development of the individuals. For instance, a Harvard research report in 2000 stated that Africa, for years, has been struggling to meet basic needs of living, such as shelter, food, education and sanitation.

Additionally, on humanitarian grounds, people ought to extend a helping hand to others struggling to meet the basic needs of living. There is no doubt that these efforts could curb the spread of diseases and potential epidemics globally. Furthermore, education plays a crucial role in the progress of the country. Investment in a well-established education system would also pave a path for the future generation, ensuring sustainable development. For instance, the World Health Organisation provides volunteers to Nigeria quarterly to educate the growing population on the importance of personal hygiene and sanitation.

To sum it up, I cannot but agree that privileged countries, if they contribute a certain portion of resources in providing education and healthcare systems to underprivileged countries, can bring significant improvement in their present living conditions and ensure a healthy future for them.