Some people think that robots and artificial intelligence are important for human's future development. Others think that robots and artificial intelligence will have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary digital age, there are two conflicting attitudes toward robots and artificial intelligence: while some are welcoming, others are skeptical. This essay will elaborate on the rationales behind these two viewpoints before elucidating why I believe that the benefits of these technological innovations are more pronounced compared to their disadvantages.

On one side of the debate, skeptics often express their concerns about the latent repercussions of robots and artificial intelligence on society. One prominent concern is the potential of an increased unemployment rate as robots and AI could supplant humans in several jobs. To buttress their arguments, these people might point to the ongoing decline in the demand for blue-collar workers and servers. That is, companies and restaurants increasingly integrate automatic, advanced technologies into their operations, so many people who work in these fields are particularly prone to losing their jobs. Then, these people might have to bear onerous financial hardships as they are devoid of their likelihood.

Nevertheless, this line of thought overlooks the fact that automation, aside from resulting in job displacement, could also create new opportunities. For instance, in Japan, the rise of automation in manufacturing has led to a decrease in traditional factory jobs. However, it also simultaneously engenders demands for high-skilled workers in robotics and AI, leading to a paradigm shift in the labor workforce rather than a net loss in job opportunities. Moreover, it should be noted that manual work, which is perilous and labor-demanding, is often associated with a high risk of occupational accidents. Thus, if this type of work is undertaken by robots, the safety of workers is ensured, and tragic consequences can be prevented.

To conclude, while there are some valid concerns regarding the impacts of robots and AI on the labor workforce, it is crucial to acknowledge that automation, instead of depriving jobs of individuals, actually transforms the current labor market. Furthermore, the utilization of robots could also contribute to workers’ safety.