Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

It is indeed true that many people view schools as centers where learners are educated but education experts and psychologists refute this claim. The notion that schools should exclusively offer education is an outdated one that needs to be discouraged. For the learners to enjoy education processes in schools, the latter should be apt in accommodating several techniques that encourage learning thus making education attractive. This paper intends to explain how more entertaining schools encourage students’ turn up thus inculcating knowledge effectively.

To begin with, meaningful learning happens in an environment that harbors it in many ways. For the learners to retain knowledge, the teachers should adopt teaching methods that are appealing to the learners. Kindergartens and other primary levels of education are usually deliberately equipped with visual learning aids to make learning not only enjoyable but also as abstract as possible. Boring and dull teaching methods induce unhealthy attitude on students. This explains why for example, some learners irrespective of their level of education, end up hating some subjects because of the uncommon teaching methods.

On the other hand, upholding entertaining and creating unique teaching methods make a school an excellent environment to thrive not only in educational matters but also the co-curricular activities. For instance, if a school usually trains and encourage budding artists, the environment becomes habitable to those who have interests in such fields. Although the sole purpose of schools is to offer education, teachers and administrators should device creative ways of eliciting interests among the learners.

On the contrary, entertainment should not be used as an avenue to introduce activities that are not within the curriculum expectations. Instead, it should be applied as a technique of making learning centers attractive especially among the younger learners.

In conclusion, schools that do not appeal to all the senses of the students and pupils perform dismally academically because the learners are not motivated with the interesting things as demanded by their age.