Some people think that schools should stop teaching students by using books, because students find them boring and that children can learn from films, TV, video games and computer instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are several ways for teaching subjects to students. Some believe that books are no longer appropriate because they are boring for students. However, other people are convinced that audio-visual resources such as films, TV programmes, and computers can be more beneficial for teaching.

Books cannot be pushed aside completely, since they have some advantages. Unlike other audio-visual materials such as videos that need the necessary infrastructure including overhead projectors or laptops, books do not need any facilities. More importantly, using books is not distracting in contrast to laptops. Such devices can be distracting for students, since these devices often have other abilities including surfing the web. As a result, some students might be tempted to spend a noticeable amount of time, playing online games with other people. In contrast, a book can help students to focus merely on the content of the book. Another possible benefit of books is that students get used to reading gradually. This can create the habit of reading books over time.

However, the benefits of using written materials should not make us forget the benefits of audio-visual resources. Video clips can help students understand subjects more deeply. When watching a video of different parts of the human body, students can have the chance to see instead of imagining the organs. This can be very beneficial especially for students who have good visual memories. Another reason why visual materials should not be overlooked is that they get updated very quickly. Written materials usually take more time to get updated.

In conclusion, I agree that visual content can help students to understand some subjects better, simply because they do not need to imagine things. However, I completely disagree that using books should be stopped for teaching at schools. This is simply because they are less distracting than visual resources that have other options that can distract students.