Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

A number of people argue that the imprisonment of lawbreakers is less effective than letting them take part in vocational training. In this essay, I will shed light on the key rationale why I totally disagree with this argument.

It is important to recognize that there exists a wide variety of criminals in society, and therefore, education programs and vocational training may not be suitable for all . For instance, serious offenders such as murderers and drug dealers pose a significant threat to society, leading to civilian casualties. Therefore, it is unsafe to grant them freedom after experiencing the educational program.This is particularly concerning since these types of criminals frequently break the law even when they understand it, leading to a lack of commitment to refrain them from re-offending. For example, in Korea, statistics showed that 79% of the criminals who took part in a number of education and job training programs became re-offenders.

Moreover, a prison sentence is the most effective punishment for lawbreakers due to its deterrent effect. Imprisonment is imperative for deterring potential offenders because it takes away freedom which is a basic human right. Therefore, the threat of incarceration serves as a strong deterrent against criminal activity. Thus, the crime rate shows a significant downward tendency in a country where they implement a prison sentence to deter individuals from committing crime.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that imprisoning criminals is more effective than vocational training due to its applicability across various types of offender and its significant deterrent effect on re-offending