Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that being imprisoned is not an ideal solution for criminals, while they can be educated and offered job training. From my perspective, although I acknowledge the benefit of imprisonment, I still believe that the power of education and job training is more significant.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that criminals should be sent to prison. Imprisonment can guarantee social security. Social assurance can be improved whenever isolating the person who commits a crime from society, which can deter violent invasion from citizens. As a result, the local community can have a sense of safety, which contributes to higher living standards and a more civilized society. Another benefit associated with this topic is the deterrence of several people who tend to engage in some detrimental behaviors. Some people who violate the regulation, including thieves, shoplifters, pickpockets, and so on, to illustrate, may observe other imprisoned criminals through the press or television. This consciousness can help the person with criminal intent give up the criminal intention, which can lower the crime rate.

On the other hand, while imprisonment is effective, there are several reasons why education and job training are more beneficial. One of these is the opportunity to improve knowledge. Supplying educational resources such as teaching professional knowledge and practical skills associated with the profession, which can set a solid foundation for criminals. Therefore, if the offender can utilize this knowledge, they can closely approach to a variety of fields, which enables them to make money and improve their life. Another reason associated with this topic is the deep consciousness about their behaviors. With the moral education, felons can have the right perspective about their wrong in previous behaviors. The more awareness the criminals have, the more positive they can be, which contributes to civilized society.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge the benefit of imprisonment, I still believe that the power of education and job training is more significant.