Some people think that some individuals are naturally good leaders while others think individuals can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether leadership skills are innate or it can be learned has become a controversial question. Different people hold different opinions. From my own perspective, leadership abilities can be developed by individuals themselves.

On the one hand, some argue that people who are born to be leaders have several characteristics such as confidence, responsibility or attraction. Therefore, it is easier for them to gain significant prestige and influence others without frequent or formal training. For instance, an extrovert person with excellent communication and social skills might easily manage one team or even an institution. Moreover, students or athletes demonstrate leadership capacities from an early age, although they have not experienced an official training yet.

On the other hand, others believe that effective leadership can be cultivated over time rather than being purely innate. Evidently, an efficient leader involves many certain skills such as communication, decision-making and conflict resolution; not a natural talent. However, individuals can learn through formal training programmes which combine real life working experience, especially in trial and error when doing teamwork or managing projects or tasks. As a result, shy people at first could become fantastic leaders if trained effectively. For example, many employees who initially lack confidence are able to become capable managers after receiving proper guidance.

In conclusion, some people have a natural aptitude for leadership that is the additional strength of a leader. Nevertheless, I personally believe that leadership skills should be considered as a learnable skill rather than a purely innate talent.