Some people think that spending a lot on holding weddings, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however think that these are necessary for individuals and the society. Discuss both views.

Weddings and birthday parties are times when people are happy and joyful, but are they worth the money and time spent? Some people believe that they are a misuse of money and time, while others think they are very important for people and society. This essay will discuss and demonstrate both views.

Weddings are among the most expensive parties all over the world. People spend lots of money on everything, for example, food, drinks, costumes, and decorations. Then, much time is spent in preparing for the wedding, costing both time and stress. Following that, many preparations go to waste; for instance, food, drinks, and decorations go unused. And lastly, many wedding guests are often unhappy with the event and will criticize everything. That is why weddings are useless and a waste of time and money.

On the other hand, weddings are an essential part of getting married. They bring happiness and joy to the people getting married. Also, you get to know your whole family—your cousins, uncles, and aunts—thus making important connections with them. Following that, spending lots of money on a wedding shows how powerful a family is, hence gaining respect for the family name. And lastly, preparing for a wedding teaches very important life skills, for example, organizing skills and social skills. These are the reasons why we should encourage more weddings and spend money on them.

In conclusion, while people choosing not to waste money on weddings and parties is acceptable, I firmly believe that spending money and planning for those amazing times is very necessary for people to be happy and to have joyful times.