some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today's life. Others argue that the history is a valuable source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a belief that learning from the past isn’t beneficial to the present life, others uphold that such a valid source of knowledge can be absorbed through history. Personally, I firmly advocate that the study of past events is crucial for today’s society.

On the one hand, the fact that studying history can benefit today’s life is not always accurate. Since some individuals find it more reasonable to spend time studying other fields such as technology and the medical sector rather than concentrating on historical lessons. In simpler terms, learning events that used to occur in the past is considered as time-consuming because life at present focuses on fostering the digital era and encouraging social welfare to be more developed. For instance, most school curriculum these days often attach technological courses or additional computer skills lessons after schooltime to their educational practice instead of historical lessons because of the demand for proficiency in using computers and other digital applications among students.

On the other hand, a colossal range of knowledge gained when studying history significantly fosters social development. Firstly, had it not been for important historical lessons, countries would have struggled to boost domestic growth. In fact, the contemporaries found it vital to learn from the pioneer’s missteps so that they can avoid repeating them, facilitating national development. Furthermore, it is recommended that studying past events can preserve traditional heritage despite globalization. Put simply, the study of history hinders cultural degradation by raising the community’s awareness on preserving valuable information about the local’s customs. For example, not until UNESCO recognised Dao Mau, a religion only found in VietNam, as an intangible cultural heritage in 2016 according to CNN Travel, did people start to learn it carefully since they aspire to protect the creed from global integration.

In conclusion, while that studying from the past benefits the present life is not widely approved, others strongly agree that historical knowledge is a valid source of information. Personally, I concur that today’s society may not comprehensively develop if historical lessons are not taken seriously.