Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the min legal age for driving a car or motorbike.To what extent do you agree/disagree

The Importance of road safety has long been debated. In recent years, it has become even more controversial, with some claiming that road safety can be improved by increasing the minimum legal age requirement, whereas some argue that other measures must be taken in order to escalate safety on the road. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea, and the reasons for my viewpoint will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

I strongly believe that age plays a vital role when it comes to some kind of responsibility, for example driving. A matured person handles various situations and circumstances with a calm and peaceful mind, however teenagers usually tend to make quick decisions without thinking about it which sometimes result in road accidents. As a result, increasing the minimum driving age may improve the safety of people by promoting active thinking and decision-making of drivers. Moreover, adults are more prone to follow rules and regulations as compared to teenagers. For instance, statistics have shown that adults make responsible decisions during driving like following traffic signals and speed limits which is often neglected by teenagers. Clearly, these factors show why increasing the required age-limit may improve road safety in several ways.

On the other hand, some people believe that other measures must be taken in order to improve road safety. They argue that there should be campaigns organized by the government to educate people about the importance of traffic rules and regulations. Therefore, this can have an impact on the overall safety of all citizens, but it is a temporary solution as teenagers forget about these when they have an automobile in front of them. Their curiosity may kill their thought process while driving.

In conclusion, although some may hold opposing views regarding an increase in minimum age for driving, it is evident that the benefits of augmenting minimal age cannot be ignored. Overall, I firmly agree that this will be advantageous to the individuals by reducing road accidents and traffic congestions.