Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to bring death penalty back Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, as the rate of crimes has significantly increased all over the world, a group of individuals believe that restoring death penalty can be the best way to prevent it. However, I wholeheartedly assert that capital punishment should not be legal, since it does not have a profound impact in decreasing the crime rates as expected and it is not harsh enough to compensate for the severity of the committed crime.

First and foremost, it is my firm conviction that bringing death penalty back cannot be considered as an effective way to reduce the crime rates. Considering the fact that in some countries e.g. the USA, Iran, Iraq, China death penalty is still being applied to the criminals having committed grave crimes, it is an irrefutable fact that the rates in these communities have not slowed down compared to the other ones.

In addition to this point, it is also crucial to consider that this type of punishment is given to those who have committed especially grave crimes. Taking the harshness of the crimes into account, putting an end to the criminals’ lives is the greatest blessing to them, not a punishment. Even though the close relatives of the victims may require the criminals to be sentenced to death, it will definitely mitigate rather than exacerbate their punishment.

After considering all the points mentioned above, I strongly advocate for the idea that capital punishment should not be brought back in any community. This is because even though it is still legal in some communities, the rates have not significantly decreased. Additionally, for the criminals who have committed severe crimes, putting an end to their lives is the greatest fortune rather than a penalty. They should be sentenced for life and suffer deeply in every single moment of their lives in prison.