Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to bring death penalty back Do you agree or disagree?

A group of people believe that the most effective way to diminish the rate of crime is to reinstate death penalty. While this view may appear convincing to some, I strongly disagree with this notion, because I firmly believe that capital punishment fails to address the underlying roots of crime and the consequences of punishment would be irreversible.

To begin with, the death penalty cannot eliminate or reduce the underlying causes that lead individuals to commit crimes. It is obvious that people commit crime because of socio-economic factors such as poverty, unemployment and lack of education. Unless governments address the underlying causes that lead individuals to commit crimes, they will not be able to make offenders understand the wrongfulness of their actions. The primary reason for punishing people who perpetrate a crime is to make them aware of the wrongfulness of their actions and to deter them from committing such acts in the future. Furthermore, by taking the lives of offenders without giving them the chance to understand and face the consequences of their actions, the effectiveness of punishment and public confidence in the judicial system will be undermined.

Another noteworthy point is the possibility of wrongful convictions. It is an undeniable fact that judicial system is not infallible, history has shown many cases that was resulted in which innocent people were sentenced to death. Hence, in my estimation, the death penalty is irreversible, as it results in the permanent loss of human life, highlighting the profoundly dangerous nature of capital punishment.

In conclusion, Although some individuals claim that the death penalty is an effective deterrent, I argue that it would be neither solution of fundamental roots of crime nor a justifiable form of punishment. Focusing on socio-economic factors and giving fair punishments to offenders to analyze what their mistake is would be an effective way to assist society to avoid crime. Therefore, I strongly disagree the idea of reinstating death penalty.