Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give death penalty. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Many people argue that the criminals have to spend more years in custody, while others believe that instead of that the offenders can serve their prison sentence in alternative approaches to decrease the number of crimes. Although the first method has some benefits and could be effective in particular cases, I believe that other solutions such as community work or house arrest may tackle this issue more efficiently. Both sides will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, In order to reduce crimes, offenders are placed in prison for many years because the isolation of criminals protects other people from danger. However, that way may lead to negative consequences. Usually in prisons the guards and labourers mistreat the prisoners, thus, provoking aggressive behavior and a sense of revenge, which result in offenders’ criminal minds and they tend to repeat offences. Secondly, the laws for felony are acting as a deterrent for the criminals due to the irreversible drawbacks that may cause. For example, after serving a sentence even the reformed criminal will not get any prestigious job since neither of the recruiters won’t take those workers with criminal records.

On the other hand, the creation of alternative methods for serving a sentence are also beneficial for both people and prisoners. In case of petty crimes, such as frauds and robbery, the felons are given community work. That prevents the increase of crime rate and turns off their bad attitude, while working among other reformed people. Furthermore, the court may provide the offenders with domestic arrest, for instance those who broke rule for the first time can be repaired. Nevertheless, serious offences can be reduced in a light form, for instance, the court may give the felons heavy fines or assign military service.

To sum up, criminals are also people and can get a chance to reform in other positive approaches, which will not only rectify this problem of crime reduction but also improve the lives of the served people.