Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A way out for the lengthy travels each day employees take to work has always been a discussed topic. Some people targeted the parks and gardens close to the city center, and were wishing to claim for replacements of those parks and gardens with apartment buildings for commuters who work in city centre in order to minimize the time spent on traveling to work. This idea seems to be applicable and effective, but at the same time, has its drawbacks. This essay will discuss both of the two sides of this view and explain why the author believes that parks and gardens close to the city center should not be replaced with apartment buildings.

In support for this view, first, with more apartments available, more employees are more likely to be able to afford a room near their workplace as the higher the supply of a product, the lower the price given to the product. This can directly solve the problem by reducing the distance between their homes and workplaces, in which they will no longer need to suffer from the numerous traffic jams on their way to work like before since they will be able to reach their workplace on feet. Aside from that, removing parks and gardens can eliminate other issues faced by the workers——to give an example, noises made by the users of the parks. Meanwhile, the users of the parks and gardens can be benefited for the environment of the parks and gardens that are away from city centre will certainly be improved to a considerable extent with less cars and buses buzzing around and busying through the streets.

However, not only do workers live near the city centre. Utilizing this proposal can produce new issues for residents who already live near the city centre, especially for the elderly generation who tend to be less active and abled to travel far merely to reach the park. As a result, the quality of life of the older adults can fall significantly. Moreover, commuters may also be users of the parks and gardens. A reminder also: commuters are not machines that are present to the world for working only——they are humans who ought to live their lives and those lives are supposed to be colorful. They tend to be the population with the most pressure loaded on them, and a place for them to relieve themselves from stress is obviously necessary. This point, in my opinion, overweights all other advantages removing parks and gardens brings and thus, I believe parks’ and gardens’ values should not be underestimated and should not be replaced with apartment buildings in the city centre.