Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds that becoming old is a drawback in contemporary society as they cannot adapt to a new environment, while the alternative stance asserts that a life for old people is getting easier since they are wiser than youngsters. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this contentious argument and then explain why I agree with the former view.

On the one hand, proponents of getting old does have some benefits tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, elder people have much more useful experiences and skills compared to young people due to their longer life span. Therefore, it is easier for the old to deal with the problems in the workplace especially the occupation that demands various working experiences such as doctors and lawyers. Another compelling reason is that with technological innovations flourishing, the daily lives of the elderly are becoming more convenient than in the past time. Living standards of the old have been tremendously lifted through a series of infrastructures specially constructed for the old people, Hence, a particular device embodied in the showering equipment for the improvement of the safety of users, which will ring if it is clicked. At the same time, the nursing industry is booming and the needs of caring old people can be easily met.

On the other hand, I advocate those who believe that the widely negative opinion about the growing age does have some reasons. The primary reason is that as age accumulates, the function of the human’s body is undermined in a range of aspects. For instance, the visual function decreases, the body turns rigid, the memory declines, and diseases happen more frequently. That is the reason why people are afraid of getting old. Furthermore, the nursery system for the elder has not developed well especially in developing countries. One such example of this is that, the lack of related infrastructures and professional workers. So for most of the families in the world, it is a preferable choice to care for parents at home, which is a burden for both the senior and the young citizens.

In conclusion, I believe that both sides are justifiable. However, on balance, although people should still worry about the issue of getting old. Even though for many elder people, their lives are not inconvenient, but they are mostly from developed countries. It is still a huge problem for many people in emerging economies worldwide.