Some people think that the best way to succeed in life is to get a university education. Others, however, believe that a formal education is not as important as other factors, such as hard work and determination. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the rise of education rates, it is a common belief that an individual with a university degree is almost guaranteed success and a job, or is generally superior to someone who didn’t pursue higher education.

Figuratively, some degrees do practically secure one’s future mostly or even the mere experience of university and the exposure to different cultures and opposing views could enhance a person’s personality and experiences, preparing them for workplace pressure and challenges, giving them an advantage over someone who has not had the privilege of such trial and error readying. Some universities are known to help their gradates guarantee internships or even job, which is a bonus solely for the university pathway.

However, that is not the case for everyone, many high school graduates choose not to pursue a higher education, and they’d rather work and get hands-on experience immediately, and some may not even have the access due to lack of funds, or specific conditions. While it is different for everyone, overall diving into the work force immediately has its pros, it gives the 21 year old with no degree more experience on their portfolio than a 21 year old fresh graduate, which obviously exposes them to different working conditions, teaching them to form connections and learn on their feet. Many of those who didn’t go for a university education pursued their hobbies and trained towards professionalism whether it’s in sports or arts, pouring all their time and determination into meeting one specific goal.

In my opinion, both options have their advantages. Hence, each person should decide on a future goal and work to meet it, through a degree or not depending on what their dream is.

In conclusion, both views come from logic yet it is different from one person to another, because not all people learn the same way nor have the same circumstances.